Winners of the 2019 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards announced!

The Australian Retailers’ Association is delighted to announce the winners of the 2019 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards. This year’s Awards were held at Myer Mural Hall, with retailers from across the nation coming together to celebrate the achievements of individuals and organisations in the industry.

In the lead up to the Awards, the ARA received an outstanding number of submissions from some of Australia’s largest retailers including PETstock, Bakers Delight, Vodafone and Coles Group. With 12 awards up for grabs, the ARA recruited an elite group of retail leaders to decide the ‘finest in retail.’

This exceptional judging panel included Alla Buinowicz, Managing Director at Taking Shape; Bernie Brookes AM, Adjunct Industry Fellow at Swinburne University of Technology; Radinck van Vollenhoven, Country Manager of Stocard; Robyn Batson, Group People and Development Manager at Sussan Group; and Warwick Ponder, Head of Corporate Affairs and Communications at eftpos Australia.

2019 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Award Winners

Award category:  Customer Experience

Recognising Australian retailers who create and enhance the

customer experience at every step of their shopping journey.

2019 Manhattan Associates Excellence in Customer Experience

  • PETstock
  • Birdsnest

2019 Daylight Agency Excellence in Retail Marketing

  • Bakers Delight
  • PETstock

2019 Pronto Retail Innovator of the Year

  • Biome

2019 Store Design and Fit-Out of the Year

  • First Choice Liquor Market – Coles Liquor

Award category: People in Retail

Recognising individuals and employers in the retail industry

paving the future of Australian retail.

2019 Rest Retail Business Woman of the Year

  • Chelsea McIntosh – Spoilt Gift and Homewares

2019 FCB Retail Employer of the Year

  • PETstock

2019 Rest Young Retailer of the Year

  • Aled Ball – On the Run

2019 Retail Graduate of the Year

  • Esther Laub – The Sydney String Centre

Award category: Retailer of the Year

Celebrating and acknowledging progressive retailers in Australia who have transformed their business to adapt to the new era of retail.

2019 eftpos National Retailer of the Year

  • Vodafone

2019 eftpos Digital Commerce Retailer of the Year

  • YCL Jewels

2019 eftpos Franchise Group of the Year

  • Bakers Delight

2019 eftpos Independent Retailer of the Year

  • Birdsnest

The Executive Director of the ARA, Russell Zimmerman, said the vast scale of retailers in attendance at this year’s awards shows the perseverance and commitment these individuals and organisations have for their businesses, employees and the wider community.

“Although the retail landscape will continue to be disrupted by emerging technology and international competitors, it is truly gratifying to see the industry filled with hardworking retailers who continue to power retail through innovation and adaption,” Mr Zimmerman said.

“Our annual Awards program is an excellent platform for retailers to come together, network, share stories, and most importantly support one another. Their ongoing passion and dedication is what and contributes to the vitality of the $320bn sector,” he added.

This year’s theme, Retail Morphosis, encompassed the development of the retail sector, and how it has matured into a thriving, adaptable industry. Keeping with the theme Retail Morphosis, the ARA coordinated a fashion parade that captured the history of Australian retail from the 1920s, 50s, 60, 70s, 80s to the 1990s. Each model’s outfits were carefully curated by Myer to emulate the appropriate decade, with hair and make-up created by Chiseled Hair to complete the look.

Following the parade, leading consumer futurist and keynote speaker, Amanda Stevens delighted the audience with an informative presentation that combined valuable consumer insights and research into consumer purchasing behaviour for the audience to take away. The host of this year’s Awards, and CEO of the century-old Ferguson Plarre Bakehouses retail chain, Steve Plarre, closed the show with a show-stopping rendition of ‘Uptown Funk’ which had the audience jumping out of their seats and clapping along.

eftpos CEO, Mr Stephen Benton, said eftpos is proud to support these awards because they recognise the extraordinary work that is done by the hundreds of thousands of retailers who serve Australian communities every single day.

“Retail is an exceptionally important industry because it impacts all of our daily lives and is the barometer of our economy. These Awards provide an opportunity to recognise the contribution of these businesses and the people who run them,” Mr Benton said.

The ARA would like to thank its corporate sponsors, esteemed judges and partners for organising this year’s Awards, and looks forward to hosting the Awards next year.